Your browser (Internet Explorer 7 or lower) is out of date. It has known security flaws and may not display all features of this and other websites. Learn how to update your browser.


Navigate / search

Seven CTBR Members Receive Awards for Facility Services, Expert Mentors, and Mini-Sabbaticals

We recently awarded over $42,000 to seven CTBR members as part of our 2015-2016 Professional Development Awards Program. We funded three expert mentor awards, six facility service fee awards, and one mini-sabbatical award.

The Expert Mentor Awards provides funds to junior or early career faculty to secure an outside expert mentor who offers guidance on pilot projects, developmental projects, and proposal development. This year, Dr. Olorunseun Ogunwobi (Biology Department) will work with Dr. Xingxing Zang at Albert Einstein College of Medicine; Dr. Peter Serrano (Psychology Department) will receive mentorship from Dr. Marshall Glesby at Weill Cornell Medical College; and Dr. Brian Zeglis (Chemistry Department) will work with Dr. Jason Lewis at Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center.

The Facility Service Fees Awards help our researchers access resources at our partner institutions, like the CTSC and RTRN, to enhance their current projects. This year’s recipients are Dr. Jill Bargonetti (Biology Department), Dr. Lynn Francesconi (Chemistry Department), Dr. Hiroshi Matsui (Physics Department), Dr. Ogunwobi, Dr. Zeglis, and Dr. Mariann Weierich (Psychology Department). Dr. Weierich also received a Mini-Sabbatical Award that allows her to travel outside of Hunter College to learn new and highly competitive research methodologies to apply her current and future research involving neuroimaging analysis.